Complete works for organ - vol. II

Manuel Castillo ( 1927 - 2005 )
Add to Cart
DT00779 organ and string orchestra
José Enrique Ayarra Jarné
This item is a PDF-download. By submitting your order you consent to these conditions: The purchase of this item entitles you to download and to save this file and to print one copy for private use. You do not have the right to hand it on to any third party or to make it available via the internet. The purchase of the PDF-file does not contain the conveyance of copyright. You do not have the right to withdraw from the purchase of the PDF-download after you have downloaded the PDF-file.
This volume contains the only two pieces that Castillo wrote for the organ during the decade of the 1970s: the Coral y diferencias (1967) and the Sonata (1969). The Coral y diferencias para órgano y cuerdas (Chorale and differences for organ and strings) was written in 1967, ten years after the composition of Suite para órgano, which appears in volume i of this collection. It consists of fourteen variations on a choral theme of the composer’s own creation. Faithful to his usual criteria, it scrupulously respects the musical ôformö while expressing it in agile modern language. The composer Tomás Marco considers this score û Castillo’s first concerted work organ û as ôimportantö; with certain obvious qualities such as ôthe mastery (M. Castillo’s) of the art of the variationö. Nevertheless, it is not as ambitious as the Sonata, which he wrote two years later and which was premiered on the Conservatory’s new organ.