Tres Sonetos de Michelangelo

Gabriel Erkoreka ( 1969 )
TR00786 solo contT 2222 - 2220-2cornetti - perc-archi
22 Minutes

The composition of Three Sonnets of Michelangelo is fruit of a commission from the Orquesta Sinfónica de Bilbao (BOS) and the Fundación Autor - Convenio AEOS. The work was premiered at the Palacio Euskalduna in Bilbao on 12 November 2009 by the countertenor Carlos Mena and the BOS under the baton of Günter Neuhold. The Sonnets by Michelangelo Buonarroti are good examples of an art form tense and brimming over with creative energy subjected to a fierce confrontation of opposites. This confrontation was particularly taken into account when developing the structure and the discourse of Three Sonnets of Michelangelo. The work consists of five sections played without interruption, with the sections corresponding to the three selected sonnets linked by two short orchestral interludes.

1. Tres Sonetos de Michelangelo