Performance materials

Symphony Nº 3 Poemas de luz

Manuel Castillo (1927 - 2005)

No customer reviews yet. Be the first.

Instrumentation:4[1.2.pic.pic] 4[] 4[1.2.3.clb] 4[1.2.3.cfg] - 6431 - timp+4 - arp - pf/cel - archi chimes.tri.tambn.claves.xyl.vib.marim.glock
Duration:40 min

Manuel Castillo composed his third symphony between 1993 and 1994. It was commissioned by the Compañía Sevillana de Electricidad to mark its centenary and was premiered at the Teatro Maestranza in Seville by the Seville Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Vjekoslav Sutej.

The straightforward connection between electricity and light was the stimulus for these poems of light, which arise from the idea of luminosity itself.

However, rather than taking descriptive or even impressionist paths they are impregnated with the concept of composition.

Far removed from programmatic music, and beyond the specific titles of the movements, we encounter a work of pure, abstract music with enormous formal and expressive content. And although, once again, we find a four-part structure, the three movements of this work follow Castillo’s usual three-part scheme so that, here, instead of seeing a possible link between the first two movements, we have an epic extra, the dazzling eccentricity of the final Passacaglia.

Order material
> Do you want to buy the main score?

> More about Manuel Castillo

Customer reviews

Expert reviews

Be the first to write a review for this item.


Composer: Manuel Castillo
Title: Symphony Nº 3 Poemas de luz
First Name*:
Rental way*:
No. of performances*:
*Required fields
RSS Subscription

All Content Copyright © 2014 Tritó S.L.
Enamorats, 35-37, baixos - 08013 Barcelona (Spain)
Phone: +34 933 426 175
Hours: Monday to Friday (9am - 6pm) GMT+01:00
Payment methods:
Payment methods
Certified by:
Payment methods