String Quartets

Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga (1806 - 1826)

This edition is based on the original version of the Three String Quartets which is now in the Bibliothèque Nationale in Paris (K 2263).

We can only speculate as to the publication of the Three String Quartets. The only clue we have comes from Fétis,9 but this date cannot be verified.

However, they were certainly published during the composer’s lifetime, as attested to in the catalogue which the publisher Petit brought out in 1826.

These quartets were considered to be inspired by the stimulating experience of Baillot’s chamber music concerts and, most certainly were specifically composed for those occasions. With this background information, it is possible to date Arriaga’s Op. 1 exactly.

> Click here to buy this product (from 30.00 €)
> View more details of this product

> More about Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga

Customer reviews

Expert reviews

Sus obras son tan impecables desde el punto de vista formal (especialmente el primero y el tercero [de los cuartetos]) como anacrónicas desde una perspectiva puramente estilística.

Be the first to write a review for this item.


RSS Subscription

All Content Copyright © 2014 Tritó S.L.
Enamorats, 35-37, baixos - 08013 Barcelona (Spain)
Phone: +34 933 426 175
Hours: Monday to Friday (9am - 6pm) GMT+01:00
Payment methods:
Payment methods
Certified by:
Payment methods