Complete works for organ - vol. II

Manuel Castillo (1927 - 2005)

This volume contains the only two pieces that Castillo wrote for the organ during the decade of the 1970s: the Coral y diferencias (1967) and the Sonata (1969).

The Coral y diferencias para órgano y cuerdas (Chorale and differences for organ and strings) was written in 1967, ten years after the composition of Suite para órgano, which appears in volume i of this collection.

It consists of fourteen variations on a choral theme of the composer’s own creation. Faithful to his usual criteria, it scrupulously respects the musical ôformö while expressing it in agile modern language.

The composer Tomás Marco considers this score û Castillo’s first concerted work organ û as ôimportantö; with certain obvious qualities such as ôthe mastery (M. Castillo’s) of the art of the variationö. Nevertheless, it is not as ambitious as the Sonata, which he wrote two years later and which was premiered on the Conservatory’s new organ.

> Click here to buy this product (from 30.68 €)
> View more details of this product

> More about Manuel Castillo

Customer reviews

Excelente edición. Me resultó interesante la concepción cromática en el diseño de la colección. Esperamos ver pronto los siguientes volúmenes.

Related news

RSS Subscription

All Content Copyright © 2014 Tritó S.L.
Enamorats, 35-37, baixos - 08013 Barcelona (Spain)
Phone: +34 933 426 175
Hours: Monday to Friday (9am - 6pm) GMT+01:00
Payment methods:
Payment methods
Certified by:
Payment methods