Prelude, Recitative and Fugue

Josep Cercós (1925 - 1989)

Of the piano works from what we might call his early period, his Preludi, recitatiu i fuga (Prelude, Recitative and Fugue) is clearly influenced by his study with Cristòfor Taltabull (1888-1964), one of the major figures in Catalan music in the second half of the XXth century due in part to his importance as a teacher. This work assumes prior acquaintance with certain historical precedences, especially with two piano works by César Franck, which like Cercós’s piece, are both in three sections. Franck’s Prelude, Coral and Fugue (1884) and his Prelude, Aria and Finale (1887) are works which Cercós performed regularly and appeared on concerts given by the group Cercle Manuel de Fall (1947-ca.1957) which first met at the Institute Français in Barcelona and of which Cercós was a founding member.

> Click here to buy this product (from 12.48 €)
> View more details of this product

> More about Josep Cercós

Customer reviews

RSS Subscription

All Content Copyright © 2014 Tritó S.L.
Enamorats, 35-37, baixos - 08013 Barcelona (Spain)
Phone: +34 933 426 175
Hours: Monday to Friday (9am - 6pm) GMT+01:00
Payment methods:
Payment methods
Certified by:
Payment methods