Hispanoamerican Symphonic Music: Márquez / Carreño / Revueltas / Chávez / Ginastera

Alberto Ginastera (1916 - 1983)
Arturo Márquez (1950 - )
Inocente Carreño (1919 - )
Silvestre Revueltas (1899 - 1940)
Carlos Chávez (1899 - 1978)

The Joven Orquesta Nacional de España, under the experienced baton of Venezuelan conductor Gustavo Medina, offers this selection from the twentieth-century Latin-American orchestral repertoire. Allegories of popular genres and folk traditions can be identified in each of the works. Danzón by Arturo Marquez alludes to Cuban son and jazz. Margariteña, by Ignacio Carreño, is a kind of Venezuelan rhapsody that introduces a collection of traditional pieces. Sensemayá, by Silvestre Revueltas, is characterized by Afro-Caribbean rhythms. The Sinfonía India by Carlos Chavez cites indigenous Mexican melodies. Finally, in Variaciones concertantes by Alberto Ginastera, the composer wrote a series of variations around a malambo, a typical gaucho dance from the pampas.

> View more details of this product

> More about Alberto Ginastera
> More about Arturo Márquez
> More about Inocente Carreño
> More about Silvestre Revueltas
> More about Carlos Chávez

Customer reviews

Expert reviews

"Una proposta atractiva i interessant!"

Be the first to write a review for this item.


RSS Subscription

All Content Copyright © 2014 Tritó S.L.
Enamorats, 35-37, baixos - 08013 Barcelona (Spain)
Phone: +34 933 426 175
Hours: Monday to Friday (9am - 6pm) GMT+01:00
Payment methods:
Payment methods
Certified by:
Payment methods